I did it.

 

I did it.

I can’t believe I actually did it. Me! I never thought I would do it. I mean, me? Really? Who am I to be doing something like that? I’m nobody. Just another cog in the wheel. Another brick in the wall. I’m not anyone important or special. Far from it. Where on earth did I gather the courage to do something like this? Maybe it was from taking all that time to look over all the options before doing it. I don’t know. Of course I was scared when I did it. Terrified actually!  But I knew it needed doing and that I was the one who could do it. So, after thinking about it for so long, agonizing over it, I finally just made up my mind and…

I did it.

I couldn’t have picked a better time to do it either. It seems like more and more people are starting to do it as well and while that might look like I am just jumping on the band wagon so to speak, I took it as another sign that it was the right thing to be doing. Also, I won’t really stand out now, will I? There won’t be a huge cry of “Look what he did!”. I’ll sort of just blend in with everyone else who’s doing it. Not that there are a lot of us doing it, I made sure of that. I don’t want to get lost in the shuffle; I just don’t want to be the only one in the spot light. I like the fact that I’ll be able to say to people when they ask me why I did it that I can tell them that I wasn’t the only one doing it so it can’t be wrong, can it? I looked around, saw others making the same choice, and so…

I did it.

The place I choose to do it was very important. There were people around to see me do it, bear witness so to speak. I don’t know what took longer – making up my mind to do it, or choosing the right place. Others who have done it and didn’t take the time to choose a good place and were ultimately disappointed. I saw that happen again and again and I knew I needed to be careful when I was deciding where to do it. I thought it over for weeks, pouring over maps, trying to find the perfect place. I must have accepted and then rejected at least a dozen different spots. And then, when I had found it…

I did it.

But who could blame me really? Once you take all the various factors into consideration, it really had to be done. It practically begged to be done actually. I mean, I really couldn’t not do it. Especially after weighing all the options. Not to do it just wasn’t a choice any longer. I couldn’t just sit by and do nothing anymore. What kind of person would I be if I was given this choice – no – this opportunity and just did nothing? I didn’t want to be the kind of person who could see something like this needing to be done and doing nothing. So I got up and…

I did it.

End.

Note: Every week we choose from four topics to write about. This week one of the topics was “anything” as in “anything at all” and I chose that.

Your comments and creative criticism are more than welcome.

2 thoughts on “I did it.

  1. So – i read once as Lee Harvey Oswald – then again as a nervous boyfriend about to propose. Loved it both times . Really captured the “anything at all” feel for me – considering a lover and an assassin were suitable characters.

Leave a Reply

