Media Man

 

(With apologies to Doctor Seuss)

 

That Media Man! That Media Man! I do not like that Media Man!

 

“Do you like my lies and sham?”

 

I do not like them Media Man.

I do not like your lies and sham!

 

“Would you like them on your phone?

Would you like them in your home?”

 

I do not like them on my phone.

I do not like them in my home.

I do not like your lies and sham!

I do not like them Media Man!

 

“Would you like them with some flair?

Would you like them with sexy hair?”

 

I do not like them with some flair!

I do not like them with sexy hair!

I do not like them on my phone.

I do not like them in my home.

I do not like your lies and sham!

I do not like them Media Man!

 

“Would you watch them on the idiot box?

Would you prefer CNN or FOX?”

 

Not the idiot box! Not CNN or FOX!

Not with some flair! Not with sexy hair!

I do not like them on my phone.

I do not like them in my home.

I do not like your lies and sham!

I do not like them Media Man!

 

“Would you? Could you? In your car?

You’ll HAVE to listen! You can’t get far!”

 

I would not, could not, in my car!

 

“You will like it! You will see!

We don’t charge! The lies are free!”

 

Not in my car! You let me be!

 

I do not like them on the idiot box!

I do not like them on CNN or FOX!

I do not like them with some flair!

I do not like them with sexy hair!

I do not like them on my phone.

I do not like them in my home.

I do not like your lies and sham!

I do not like them Media Man!

 

“Say! I know! Here in the dark!

We will keep you here in the dark.”

 

I would not, could not, in the dark!

 

“I know! I know! Let’s add some fear!

Will our message now be more clear?”

 

I would not, could not, listen to fear.

 

“You do not like our lies and sham?”

 

I do not like them Media Man.

 

“Could you, would you, with a movie star?”

 

I would not, could not, with a movie star!

 

I will not listen to the fear.

Not in the dark!

Not in my car!

I do not like them on the idiot box!

I do not like them on CNN or FOX!

I do not like them with some flair!

I do not like them with sexy hair!

I do not like them on my phone.

I do not like them in my home.

I do not like your lies and sham!

I do not like them Media Man!

 

“You do not like them, so you say.

Yet millions listen every day.

Try and become one of us, I say.”

 

Media Man, just let me be!

Stop trying to manipulate me!

 

I just want the truth!

Is that so hard?

Not filtered for me,

I won’t let down my guard.

Don’t make stuff up,

Don’t try to impress.

I couldn’t care less about Miley’s new dress.

Are you listening now Media Man?

Not all of us are into your plan.

Some of us are wise beyond our years,

We refuse to believe the lies and fears.

 

Just tell me the news.

And nothing but.

And if you can’t do that.

Keep your damn mouth shut.

 

End.

Note: Every week we choose from four topics to write about. This week one of the topics was “Media – informative or inflammatory?” and I chose that.

Your comments and creative criticism are more than welcome.

Leave a Reply

