A Bad Day

 

“Why do things like this always happen to me?”

The thought flew through his mind as he stared down the barrel of the gun the girl had pointed at his head.

Fragments of his day flashed in and out of his vision as she stood there shaking, the gun mere inches from his nose:

Jump to his feet hitting the floor as he sat up first thing this morning –

Back to the school room he was in filled with screams and running people –

Jump to his usual boring ride on the bus, listening to his music in his iPhone –

Back to the blood on the walls around him, splashed there when she shot others –

Jump to him having lunch with Darryl his best friend and laughing over their latest joke –

Back to seeing Darryl laying on the floor behind the girl with gun, half his head missing, never to laugh again –

Jump to hearing odd popping noises from the hall and then screams, the door to the classroom bursting open and the girl with the gun running in and shooting at anything and everything –

Back to hearing the girl screaming something at him now amid the chaos of the room…

“Wait. What?” he asked.

“You’re just like all the rest of them!” she screamed again.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about!” he stammered back.

“Oh yes you do! You’re just too scared to admit it now that I finally have the power!”

“No really, I don’t know what you mean! I have no idea what you are fucking talking about! I don’t even know your damn name!” he pleaded.

She stopped screaming at him and tilted her head to the side. She was breathing heavily and her clothes were covered in splotches of blood.

“Oh, you don’t?” she asked.

“No man! I don’t know you!” he said again.

She looked at him suspiciously.

“You’re Jessie. Jessie Boyle.”

Damn it. Now he didn’t know what to do. She knew him. Did he deny who he was? That might piss her off. But if he agreed, she might say she had been looking for him all along and then, well, he didn’t want to think about that.

“Yeah, I’m Jessie.”

“I knew it. I knew you had this class. I was looking for you, asshole.”

“Me? Why me?”

“Don’t give me any bullshit! You know why!” she screamed, brandishing the gun at his face.

“I don’t! I don’t!” he pleaded.

“You damn well do! You and your fucking friends! You’ve made my life a living hell because of what you did!” she screamed. “I went looking for all of you and you’re the last one, the leader of the band of assholes. I’m gonna give you a chance, more than they got, more than you gave me! More than you deserve! I wanna know why you did it! Just answer me that. Be truthful and maybe, maybe you get to live.”

She raised the gun a bit higher, to the center of his forehead, and held it there.

Oh hell. She fucking knew! She found out it was them. How? Didn’t matter now, now did it. Oh shit, oh shit, oh shit.

“Well, uh…” he stuttered.

“Well asshole? Why? Why post those rumors about me on Twitter? You damn well know they aren’t true. You made them up! I lost friends because of you!” she was screaming again.

She started shaking again, her anger rising.

He quickly thought about what he could possibly say. Yeah, sure, he and his friends made up those nasty rumors about her. Hell it was funny. Well at the time it was. It sure as shit wasn’t funny now! He racked his brain for what he could say to save his life and then remembered something from that stupid anti-bullying course they had all been forced to take a few months back.

“Wait! It’s just that, well, I guess…” he started. If he played this right, he might just get out of this alive. “I guess I was just lashing out cause I feel hurt too, ya know? It’s like they told us in that class we took, hurt people hurt people.” He smiled at her.

She tilted her head again.

“Hurt people hurt people, huh?” she whispered.

Her finger tightened on the trigger.

End.

Note: Every week we choose from four topics to write about. This week one of the topics was “Bullying” and I chose that.

Your comments and creative criticism are more than welcome.

Leave a Reply

